Kuuma kesä ja uusi kirja

Saatiinpa viimein heinähelteet tännekin Lapin piilopirtin perälle. Sen verran on lämmin, että painavaa valokuvauskalustoa ei päiväseltään mielellään heiluttele. Mutta jääpähän paremmin aikaa kirjoittamiselle.  Seuraava kirja taitaa käsitellä luontoa hieman poikkeavasta näkökulmasta: kaupungin eläimistöä.  Ketut ja supikoirat muista puhumattakaan ovat muuttamassa kaupunkiin, muista puhumattakaan. On siinä Ilpolla, Vaarilla ja Vappu-koiralla ihmettelemistä. 

Macro photography

I am testing my new 150 mm Sigma macro lens F 2.8. It is kind of heavy, I got to teach my shaky hands to hold it steady while taking a shot. The first day there was wind and the flowering roses with their insect passengers were swaying a lot.. not good at all. Using a tripod was no option: it stabilizes the lens but not the target. Well, the next day air was calm and I managed to get a few half decent shots. Excellent lens quality was obvious, however, I have to work more on the depth of field.

If you don't know what all this is don't worry. Just photography jargon. Anyway, today my wife and me celebrated the picture book of our 2014 pictures of Vormsi island, Estonia, which just came out of print. Next time, we will take the macro  with us, too.

It continues to be unusually warm up here. The birds have stopped singing, being busy to feed their offspring and to teach them fly. Occasionally, there is a distant crane call.