Shooting the moon

The full supermoon passed last sunday with cloudy skies, but monday the weather was better and it was still almost full moon. The moon rose about 9.20 p.m. when there was still sunlight, the sun setting at about 10 p.m. In principle, this left about an hour to shoot with little contrast between the rising moon and the skies, good for including some scenery in the picture. Unfortunately, I decided to wait longer to give the moon time to rise well above the horizon. Although there still was some skylight (the summer is not yet over up here close to the polar circle), the contrast between the moon and everything else was already too high. I first tried with my 150 mm tele lens which gave the moon as bright spot with no detail. Increasing shutter speed I finally got a detailed face of the moon, everything else being completely black. Giving up hope to include scenery, I finally resorted to a 300 mm tele plus 1.4x extender, handheld with ISO 1600 sensitivity. Here's what I got. I have seen better ones, but it was an experience to wade in a still rain-wet grass field chasing the moon.